Leave a comment

Kishi Bashi [does] Talking Heads — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 16)

Kishi Bashi © The Tiny Hobo — Talking Heads © Olaf Hajek

… … … Kishi Bashi © The Tiny Hobo …… …… …… …… …… …… …… Talking Heads © Olaf Hajek … … …

I had this great idea to do a cover series post featuring a handful of bands that we saw at SXSW, similar to the one I did last year in honor of my musical adventures in LA, but as I’m still struggling with putting together the official line-up from this year’s SX extravaganza, I think I will opt for simplicity and just share this Kishi Bashi cover.

It’s delightful and fully worthy of not having to share the spotlight with anything else.

Cover songs are often a controversial topic among music lovers. I see both sides of the topic, but I myself am very PRO-cover. Inspiration is found in nature, in a kind word, in a thoughtfully penned poem, in the laughter of children. Different things inspire different people at different times, but I think music is universally the most inspirational medium. Musicians who are just starting out hone their craft by learning covers that inspire them, songs originally played by people they admire. I love that! I love the respect and reverence you can hear in a thoughtfully done cover. I especially adore it when a song is reworked and has new life breathed into it. [original source]

[the original]

(P.S. ‘Burning Down the House’, by Talking Heads, was one of my favorite songs…. in kindergarten. Guess I’ve always had great taste in music. 😉 )

___________________
check out the previous songs in this series

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 1) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 2)
MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 3) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 4)
MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 5) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 6)
MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 7) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 8)
MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 9) •MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 10)
MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 11) •MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 12)
MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 13) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 14)
MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 15)

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

