3 Comments

March Ramblings & Nathaniel Rateliff

Ahhh… it’s March in Austin, Texas. Do you know what that means? It means South by Southwest is right around the corner. I’m trying to work up a little post featuring some of the artists I’m excited to see this year — but in truth I can’t focus. I know the silence in these pages would lead you to believe I’m not freaking out on the inside that it’s almost my favorite time of the year. After all I wouldn’t shut-up this time last year because Sx was not in the cards for me. I promise you, I am ELATED that it’s almost Christmas, uh, I mean SxSW (my version of Christmas). 🙂

It’s just that I have the worst case of Spring Fever. We’re having a wretched cold spell here and it’s not helping my frame of mind. Or my focus. I moved south with visions of a tepid winter: long sleeves, boots and scarves — no more. And while yes, I escaped the snow of Colorado, it’s been much colder than I had hoped. I mean, I own four winter coats and I’ve had need for them ALL. In Texas. Boohiss.

Nathaniel Rateliff’s latest album, Falling Faster Than You Can Run, has been keeping me warm. And sane. It’s also been distracting me from writing about South-by… and since my lil blog is getting lots of traffic from searches for “SXSW”, it seems I really should get on the ball. I’d say I’ll think about it, but I can’t think about anything while listening to this album. It’s pretty much my favorite thing on the planet right now and it’s an all-consuming listen. Multi-tasking? Uhm, no.

The entire thing undoes me in the most delicious way, but these two songs. Holy Apollo. The Mahogany Sessions has my whole-hearted thanks for these session vids.

I saw Nathaniel Rateliff live twice in 2012, both at SxSW and also in Boston. He was touring with Communion’s “Austin-to-Boston” tour. You can read a little about that: here.

3 comments on “March Ramblings & Nathaniel Rateliff

  1. Love your blog – I dare you to post more about SXSW!

    • Haha, Robin. You may have just awakened my 13 year old self who wants to shout, “Dare accepted”!

      I will. I will. I mean, I have to. It’s NEXT week and all. By Friday? Okay, yes. My promise to you – I will post something about SxSW by Friday (or Saturday…). 🙂

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

