1 Comment

Kina Grannis [does] The Neighbourhood — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 15)

MIMFL - Vol 15I couldn’t decide which of Kina’s covers to share with you. A good friend recently tipped me off to her cover of Lorde’s, “Team”. He knew I was already smitten with that tune and Kina’s version was, indeed, sensational. But then I listened to her cover of The Neighbourhood’s, “Sweater Weather”. Well, hell. Seriously?!

The tug-of-war began. I can’t post both, can I? However will I choose? I tested the waters with her cover of “Team” over on the ol’ facebook page and you guys LOVED it. Which was rather awesome, because now it’s already out there and I’m free to share “Sweater Weather” here. You’ll like it, too. I promise.

Although…. the harmonies on “Team” are out-freaking-standing. Like, woah. So maybe, I will have to post them both after all.

Cover songs are often a controversial topic among music lovers. I see both sides of the topic, but I myself am very PRO-cover. Inspiration is found in nature, in a kind word, in a thoughtfully penned poem, in the laughter of children. Different things inspire different people at different times, but I think music is universally the most inspirational medium. Musicians who are just starting out hone their craft by learning covers that inspire them, songs originally played by people they admire. I love that! I love the respect and reverence you can hear in a thoughtfully done cover. I especially adore it when a song is reworked and has new life breathed into it. [original source]

I loved “Sweater Weather” the first time I heard it. It’s an excellent jam. But there is something about this version that really brings the lyrics to the forefront and the result is undeniably hot. It’s slower. Deliberate.

All I am is a man. I want the world in my hands. I hate the beach, but I stand in California with my toes in the sand….

GAH. It’s so good. She’s so gooood. If you haven’t heard this, brace yourself.

The original

And then there’s this tasty morsel. Prepare for hair raising, spine-tingling perfection when Kina comes in at 0:28.

The original has already been featured in these pages: HERE

___________________
check out the previous songs in this series

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 1) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 2)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 3) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 4)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 5) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 6)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 7) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 8)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 9) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 10)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 11) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 12)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 13) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 14)

One comment on “Kina Grannis [does] The Neighbourhood — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 15)

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

