2 Comments

The Mighty Oaks [cover] Rihanna — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 14)

MIMFL - Volume 14This post may or may not be a stall tactic. You see, it’s 13 days into the new year and I still haven’t posted my Favorite Finds of 2013. I know y’all are waiting with great anticipation. [wink] If you keep up over at my facebook page I’ve dropped a few spoiler alerts. It IS in progress and I had hoped to have it live today, but I don’t think it’s going to happen. It’s nearing 2 a.m. as I write this and my day begins in less than 5 hours. Soon, my dear ones. Soon.

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted a song for the cover series, I think I’ll do that now.

Cover songs are often a controversial topic among music lovers. I see both sides of the topic, but I myself am very PRO-cover. Inspiration is found in nature, in a kind word, in a thoughtfully penned poem, in the laughter of children. Different things inspire different people at different times, but I think music is universally the most inspirational medium. Musicians who are just starting out hone their craft by learning covers that inspire them, songs originally played by people they admire. I love that! I love the respect and reverence you can hear in a thoughtfully done cover. I especially adore it when a song is reworked and has new life breathed into it. [original source]

Mighty Oaks have been one of my most cherished discoveries of this past year and yes, they’ll be on the soon-to-come list of Favorite Finds. [Yet another spoiler alert!] For now, kick back and bask in this beautiful cover of Rihanna’s, Stay. If you’re jonesin’ for some good musical loving I think this will satiate you for a bit.

the original

___________________
check out the previous songs in this series

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 1) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 2)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 3) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 4)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 5) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 6)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 7) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 8)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 9) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 10)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 11) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 12)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 13)

 

2 comments on “The Mighty Oaks [cover] Rihanna — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 14)

  1. I never listen to rihana and wouldn’t be able to name on song she sing but I really enjoy this cover. Mainly this guy’s voice.

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

