5 Comments

Paper Route [does] Lorde — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 13)

MIMFL - Vol13I always feel a little bit guilty introducing a band to these pages by way of this Cover Series, when I’ve listened to their music for years. Paper Route is an outstanding trio of Nashville-based musicians and they should have their very own write-up, highlighting their original material. Get them on your radar if they aren’t already. Back in the day when Myspace Music was my preferred way of finding up and coming bands, Paper Route was one of the first diamonds in the rough I came across. I think their earliest EP was barely out then and I was hooked.

My dear friend, Peter, shared their cover of Lorde’s, “Royals”, with me today. His caption, “Next amazing cover”? And I thought, “Eh”. I commend Lorde for being super talented. She truly is. But I tend to loathe catchy pop songs. Three months ago I drove to the beach with a good friend and she played “Royals” for me for the first time. I don’t remember her exact words, but it was something along the lines of, “I know you are going to hate me for this, but I just have to play this song. I can’t get enough of it”. Needless to say, my internal jukebox played the damn song on repeat for days…. and that was enough for me. However, I’m genuinely taken by Paper Route’s cover. I hope you like it, too.

Cover songs are often a controversial topic among music lovers. I see both sides of the topic, but I myself am very PRO-cover. Inspiration is found in nature, in a kind word, in a thoughtfully penned poem, in the laughter of children. Different things inspire different people at different times, but I think music is universally the most inspirational medium. Musicians who are just starting out hone their craft by learning covers that inspire them, songs originally played by people they admire. I love that! I love the respect and reverence you can hear in a thoughtfully done cover. I especially adore it when a song is reworked and has new life breathed into it. [original source]

The original.

5 comments on “Paper Route [does] Lorde — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 13)

  1. I first heard Lorde’s Royals after my final interview up in SF as I drove back to the airport to return to LA. I loved the sound because it wasn’t what was playing on all the LA stations and I desperately wanted to be able to say with her all those quick phrases, “Jet planes, islands, tigers on a gold leash…” The only way I knew how was to practice. So I have a fond memory of the song because of when I heard it in my life. It has been now officially overplayed. So when I listened to the cover, I thought, “I love this. This has so much more soul to it. So much more calmness and realness.” But I can’t tell you if it’s because I’m “finished” with the original. It would be interesting for me to hear both for the first time and see which one I like.

    For example, I heard Erato’s cover of Robyn’s “Call Your Girlfriend” before the Robyn version and I prefer their take on it.

    I love your writings, Amber.

    And I love you.

    • Thank you for writing me love notes, Jess. And for sharing your experience with this song. I love hearing how others relate to music. Now when I hear Lorde I can think of YOU. ♥

      (Now if you’ll excuse me I’ll be heading off to check out Erato’s cover of “Call Your Girlfriend”. 😉 I’m not even sure I’ve heard Robyn sing it. This is the version I’m familiar with: http://youtu.be/QgN1jMdd1Mg)

  2. Really nice. Thanks for sharing. It’s great to hear bands create their own “sonic world” on a cover tune. My son and I saw Paper Route several years ago in a small club with about 20 other people. That’s still one of the best live shows I’ve seen. I really have not listened to them enough since Andrew left.

  3. Paper Route did a phenomenal job covering such a powerful song. I was very impressed. I have listened to them for a while and was a bit disappointed when they announced they were doing a cover. But they sure blew me away with this song. Love it and love them! Great post!

  4. Yeaaaaaaaaaah, baby. I love good harmony and the raw sound of a true voice. 🙂

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

