2 Comments

The Bronze Medal [does] Frightened Rabbit — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 12)

MIMFL Vol-12I love The Bronze Medal; they were featured in my Favorite Finds of 2011 and I have spent the last couple of years watching… waiting… hoping for more music. Last year’s EP was lovely, but I really need them to release a full length album. (They are in the studio recording NOW! Praise Apollo!) I am grateful for the session videos they have on YouTube; those have helped tide me over. But let’s talk about this cover they did. Woah.

Cover songs are often a controversial topic among music lovers. I see both sides of the topic, but I myself am very PRO-cover. Inspiration is found in nature, in a kind word, in a thoughtfully penned poem, in the laughter of children. Different things inspire different people at different times, but I think music is universally the most inspirational medium. Musicians who are just starting out hone their craft by learning covers that inspire them, songs originally played by people they admire. I love that! I love the respect and reverence you can hear in a thoughtfully done cover. I especially adore it when a song is reworked and has new life breathed into it. [original source]

Why does a song that makes me want to cry my eyes out inspire such adoration?! I’m pretty much the opposite of a sad sap; yet, it is sad sap music that sends my heart soaring. (I’m fully aware what I’ve just said is rather oxymoronic and I’m okay with that.) 1:33 knocks the wind right out of me. Que the tears.

Many thanks to Frightened Rabbit for penning this stunning tune.

I’m working on my backwards walk
Walking with no shoes or socks
The time rewinds to the end of May
I wish you’d never met, then met today

I’m working on my faults and cracks
Filling in the blanks and gaps
But when I write them out, they don’t make sense
I need you to pencil in the rest

I’m working on drawing a straight line
I’ll draw until I get one right
It’s bold and dark, girl, can’t you see
I’ve drawn a line between you and me

I’m working on erasing you
Just don’t have the proper tools
I’ll get hammered; forget that you exist
There’s no way I’ll be forgetting this

I’m working hard on walking out
Shoes keep sticking to the ground
My clothes won’t let me close the door
My trousers seem to love your floor

I’m working on my backwards walk
There’s nowhere else for me to go
Except back to you this one last time
Say yes before I change my mind

Say yes before I ….

You’re the shit and I’m knee-deep in it.
You’re the shit and I’m knee-deep in it.
You’re the shit and I’m knee-deep in it.
You’re the shit and I’m knee-deep in it.
You’re the shit and I’m knee-deep in it.
You’re the shit and I’m knee-deep in it.

___________________
check out the previous songs in this series

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 1) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 2)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 3) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 4)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 5) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 6)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 7) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 8)

  MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 9) • MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 10)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 11)

 

2 comments on “The Bronze Medal [does] Frightened Rabbit — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 12)

  1. Oh man this is intense…I must say I prefer the Frightened Rabbit live version.

    • I love them both equally, I think. I’m a sucker for The Bronze Medal’s harmonies, but I love the instrumentation and energy of Frightened Rabbit’s live version. However, TBM’s cover elicits tears — it plays on my emotions in a way that the original does not. That’s always a selling point. ☺

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

