Leave a comment

NEW BEGINNINGS [feat. NEULORE]

We can never be born enough. — e.e cummings

At a glance, this tiny sentence is a bit unassuming. It may only be six words, but there’s a lot of GOODNESS packed in there. It’s one of my all time favorite quotes and I have a lot of favorite quotes. (If you like that kind of thing you can browse at your leisure: HERE.) I bring this up because today is my birthday and I LOVE my birthday. I’m a sucker for new beginnings. That’s what birth is all about, right? I confess, I’m getting to the age where counting my years isn’t the fun it once was. I’ve hit all the exciting milestones, and I’m more concerned with investing in my health and learning how to age gracefully, than I am with throwing a big birthday bash. (Although, I’ll never say no to a bash! 🙂 ) I think I’ve done a pretty damn good job LIVING the years I’ve had thus far. There are days I’m convinced my mistakes outweigh my triumphs. There are days I scowl in the mirror, looking intently for the face of the younger version of me because she has some explaining to do — I’m tired of cleaning up after her. But on a good day I’m able to look at my less-than-stellar choices and find the good that has come from them.

It’s a dance, my friends, this thing called life. There will be times you lose your rhythm. You will get spun across the dance floor and find yourself dizzy and careening towards your backside. Sometimes you’ll be two steps behind or you may discover your dance steps are outdated. Guess what? It’s time to get some new moves. And once in a glorious while you will find yourself gliding effortlessly, dancing on air, and you’ll wonder how things ever got to be so good. Make sure to say thank you to anyone and everyone who played a role in you arriving at that spectacular moment in time; that’s what will get you through the next time you make a total ass of yourself on the dance floor. (Speaking from experience, the less you care about those occasions when you look foolish, the less others will care. And the kinder you are to yourself after a perceived failure, the kinder others will be towards you.)

Neulore is a Nashville based band who state that their 2009 emergence was born out of a desire “to tell stories of hope”. If you are a newcomer to these pages, let me tell you, that rings all my bells. At the end of a long day all I want to do is unwind with tales of truth and stories of hope; I want to cozy up with the sounds of a bleeding heart. Neulore fits the bill. Keep your ears open, they are rumored to have some new sounds coming soon. For an immediate fix look to their 2010 release, “Apples & Eve”.  Lead singer, Adam Agin, also has a solo album called “Rainy Days + Sleepless Nights”. Both of these albums have my whole-hearted recommendation. A few years back Adam Agin’s “Foundation EP” found it’s way to me — three little songs and I was hooked.

I’ve been saving this song for you. Saving it for today.

FACEBOOK • OFFICIAL • SOUNDCLOUD • BANDCAMP

[lyrics]
I was the first to watch you leave
poor in soul, a dried up stream
you were the last of a dying breed
prone to wander but born to lead

and I still remember your innocence
oh the days when your heart was in it
oh but now you’re like the falling sun
and the race to death has just begun

so light your torch and follow me
we’ll burn the boats back to who we used to be
and all this time it was never what it seemed
let’s  burn the boats back to who we used to be

and all the memories of the days you lost
you add them up and then you count the cost
you’re just a shadow of a man undone
another life that has just begun

so light your torch and follow me
we’ll burn the boats back to who we used to be
all this time it was never what it seemed
let’s  burn the boats back to who we used to be
let’s  burn the boats back to who we used to be

so light your torch and follow me
we’ll burn the boats back to who we used to be
and all this time it was never what it seemed
let’s  burn the boats back
let’s  burn the boats back
let’s  burn the boats back to who we used to be

Still with me? How about one more? This is from their first EP.

Namaste, darlings. Celebrate every day.

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

