1 Comment

Lola King and the Kickstarts // BOUNCE TOGETHER

Emily Dickinson once wrote in a letter, The heart wants what the heart wants – or else it does not care. Often when I’m pondering why I like something (or don’t), I think of Emily’s words. Of course, the attraction or chemistry I’m prone to dissecting is of the musical sort. The heart wants what the heart wants – or else it doesn’t not care. I feel this is quite applicable to music because I listen with my whole being; my heart generally takes the lead.

Recently the music of Lola King and the Kickstarts fell into my lap. I must admit, I’m a critical first-time listener. I pushed play, and when I was immediately assaulted by luscious indie-pop goodness, I thought to myself, this isn’t going to be for me — it’s too “up”. (What’s that? You say “luscious indie-pop goodness” should be a selling point? Well, I can’t help it, dammit; I’m stuck in a rut and I like my music introspective and melancholy. stomps foot and sticks out tongue) However… despite my initial musings, I was sufficiently intrigued. The lyrics were witty and compelling, not to mention absurdly catchy. There was also something magnetic about their sound — I knew instinctively I wouldn’t be able to write them off so easily. I found myself re-visiting their limited catalog in hopes of cementing my impression of them. I had to switch from bandcamp streaming to YouTube to help it all click into place. What had been apprehensive curiosity, immediately blossomed into a musical crush worthy of sharing. (And this was the kicker.) You should know my basis for placing value on all entertainment [books/film/music] is: 1) Would I read/watch/listen again? 2) Would I share it with someone else? As it turns out, Lola King and the Kickstarts fit the bill in a big way. Yes, I’ll listen again (and again) and yes, I’m dying to share. (And yes, I’m doubly smitten because their luscious pop goodness won me over! 😉 I really like it when I find myself reconsidering first impressions — enlightenment comes when one is receptive.)

What YouTube solidified for me, that streaming did not, was the joyous passion that exudes from this band. I’m passionate about what I listen to, and what I write about, and I guess I need to feel a similar passion coming from any band I’m considering featuring. The energy coming off LKATK is wildly contagious.

Their debut double a-side single (including the song featured above) will be available on iTunes, Amazon, etc. on May 20th — but for now the band is generously gifting them for free.

Share the L O V E.

Get connected with LKATK on facebook
Listen on soundcloud or bandcamp

[lyrics]
Just because I’m down it doesn’t mean that I can’t bounce, bounce, bounce, bounce, bounce, bounce.
And ’cause I lost romance it doesn’t mean that I can’t dance, dance,dance, dance, dance, dance.

You’re thinking I’m blue because of you, but maybe you’re wrong,
Everything that I do can’t be tainted by you and the fact that you’re gone.

(Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh,)

Just because I’m skint it doesn’t mean that i can’t drink, drink, drink, drink, drink, drink.
And just because I drink it doesn’t mean that I don’t dare to think, think, think, think, think, think

You’re thinking I’m blue because of you but maybe you’re wrong,
Everything that I do can’t be tainted by you and the fact that you’re gone.

(Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh,)

I don’t know where to begin, we could bounce forever.
And if you really want to win, we should bounce together,
And if you’re thinking how I think, then we can bounce forever.
And if you really want to win, we should bounce together.

Just because I’m down it doesn’t mean that I can’t bounce, bounce, bounce, bounce, bounce, bounce.
And ’cause I lost romance it doesn’t mean that I can’t dance, dance,dance, dance, dance, dance.

You’re thinking I’m blue because of you but maybe you’re wrong,
Everything that I do can’t be tainted by you and the fact that you’re gone.

(Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh,)

I don’t know where to begin, we could bounce forever.
And if you really want to win, we should bounce together,
And if you’re thinking how I think, then we can bounce forever.
And if you really want to win, we should bounce together.

I don’t know where to begin, we could bounce forever.
And if you really want to win, we should bounce together,
And if you’re thinking how I think, then we can bounce forever.
And if you really want to win, we should bounce together.

(Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh,)
(Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh, Ohhhhh,)

One comment on “Lola King and the Kickstarts // BOUNCE TOGETHER

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

