1 Comment

VANCE JOY // Emmylou

I’ve mentioned once or twice that I was unable to make the annual trek to Austin for SxSW this year. I tried to ignore the SxSW countdowns and the various posts that were all over the interwebs. I even refused to make a SxSW show schedule for a dear friend because doing so would cause me too much pain. I did pretty well staying out of it, but I thought it would be safe to tune in during the week of SxSW. After all, there was no way I could change my mind last minute. Plus, I’d just returned home from my amazing LA getaway. All of my musical needs should have been more than satiated. Honestly, I thought I was at peace with my decision to skip South-by this year. (After this post, I PROMISE to stop talking about it.)

But then I discovered two things that physically made my heart hurt. 1) Bastille was playing SxSW. 2) Vance Joy was playing SxSW. How did this slip past me?! Forget the part where I had very purposefully ignored anything and everything SxSW. I couldn’t believe this information had eluded me. I’m sure it was for the best; I simply could not go this year. END OF STORY. (However, that didn’t stop me from berating myself for the better part of a week, and creating scenarios in my mind in which I could go back in time and change my plans around.)

Anyway, this is my favorite song off Vance Joy’s debut EP, God Loves You When You’re Dancing. The simplicity of this song is what I find so striking. It’s a waking lullaby; gentle, but stirring. It’s the perfect opening track for his EP; it just makes you want more. I’ve been waiting for a YouTube video to surface, so I could share it with you. Like so much of the music I love, this album is not yet available for purchase in the US. I did start to purchase a hard copy from his merch store, but couldn’t bring myself to spend a little over $10 for the 5-song EP and then another $10 to have it shipped. I’m not cheap and I deeply value supporting the music I love, but that was too steep for me. I’ll bide my time until it’s been made available on US iTunes or Amazon, or until he tours in the states and I can buy a copy at show.

(Just a heads up, this video is silent until 27 seconds in.)
Connect with Vance Joy on FACEBOOK

[lyrics]
Oh if you’re losing sleep…

Oh if you’re losing sleep, scared of shadows.
See it’s just a chair, see the clothes hang there.
Oh don’t go losing sleep, scared of shadows.
Oh don’t feel bad.
Well I never have, since I got you, my Emmylou.
You wear those socks to bed, wear those socks to bed.
That’s what I do.
Oh c’mon sleepyhead, get yourself to bed.
Don’t go losin, oh, the nighttime.
Oh, don’t feel bad.
Well, I never have, since I got you, my Emmylou.  
You are loved, you are loved, you are loved.
You are loved, you are loved, you are loved. 
You are loved, you are loved, you are loved.
You are loved, you are loved, you are loved. 
Oh now, don’t feel bad.
Well I never have.
Now that I’ve got you, my Emmylou.
No don’t feel bad.
Well I never have, now that I’ve got you, my Emmylou.

One comment on “VANCE JOY // Emmylou

  1. Just saw Vance in concert. He is amazing. He was up there, just him and is guitar and he held me mesmerised for his entire set. No pyrotechnics or fancy footwork needed. He is a true artist.

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

