5 Comments

Broken Anchor [does] Harvey Danger — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 7)

MIMFL Vol 7

Been around the world and found
that only stupid people are breeding;
the cretins cloning and feeding…

I know I’m not the only one who experienced a time-warp-sensation reading those lyrics. I’m taken back to the summer of 1998. I spent three weeks in Portland and two weeks in Seattle. It was music festival season and Harvey Danger was everywhere. I heard Flagpole Sitta played live before it became an hourly assault from the local alternative radio station. No doubt you remember, it was one of those songs you couldn’t get away from and you couldn’t stop yourself from singing along (even though you probably developed a fair amount of loathing towards it).

Who knew that fifteen years later it would emerge again and I would find myself genuinely smitten with it?! Harvey Danger’s, Flagpole Sitta, has no place in my current listening rotation, but Broken Anchor‘s version has cozied itself up alongside the rest of my musical collection and found a home. What was once an upbeat, infectious (albeit a tad meretricious) pop song, has been drastically slowed down, causing the lyrics to become forefront. It should be pointed out that some of the original lyrics have been removed altogether. Austin Hartley-Leonard’s sultry crooning lazily drifts along, lacing this tune in sepulchral tones. The obnoxiously buoyant Flagpole Sitta of the 90’s has been transformed into a melancholic masterpiece, complete with longing and angst. Never, in all my years of writing and music listening, could I have ever imagined I’d utter those words about this song. Judge for yourself, I think it’s rather delicious.

And a cameo by Rachael Leigh Cook?! 
It would seem my long-forgotten girl crush is still intact. 🙂

Go HERE for more from Broken Anchor (including a free sampler)

[and the original]

Cover songs are often a controversial topic among music lovers. I see both sides of the topic, but I myself am very PRO-cover. Inspiration is found in nature, in a kind word, in a thoughtfully penned poem, in the laughter of children. Different things inspire different people at different times, but I think music is universally the most inspirational medium. Musicians who are just starting out hone their craft by learning covers that inspire them, songs originally played by people they admire. I love that! I love the respect and reverence you can hear in a thoughtfully done cover. I especially adore it when a song is reworked and has new life breathed into it. [original source]

________
check out the previous songs in this series

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 1)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 2)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 3)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 4)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 5)

MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 6)

5 comments on “Broken Anchor [does] Harvey Danger — MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 7)

  1. Just the bridge 🙂
    Thank you so very much, it’s an honor.
    -aust

  2. Ahhh!!! Oh, love. Both :))

  3. never heard that original. Love the feel of the cover

Thoughts or comments? Please share.