4 Comments

Awaken My Senses [feat ALFRED HALL]

If you read my last post, you’ll know my year derailed mid-February and I was counting on my recent trip to LA to breathe some much needed life back into me. Though the trip was a glorious escape, it was merely a respite. The despair settled back in when I returned home. I knew the fog was finally beginning to lift when music started to appeal to me again. While I’ve certainly been medicating with my favorites, I haven’t been able to listen to anything new. In part because I had the most insane double ear infection, my actual ability to listen was severely limited. However, the bigger concern was this: I listen with my heart every bit as much as my ears and my heart was incapable of processing beauty. It simply hurt too much.

This past week, really just the past five days, I have been showered with an incredible amount of audible beauty. I wasn’t even looking for it. I haven’t been checking my YouTube subscriptions, I haven’t been exploring on Spotify, and I rarely ever surf other music blogs. And yet the universe gently guided me down the necessary paths that would awaken my senses. I have been basking in this awakening and counting my blessings.

My friend, Helen, whom I’ve mentioned before HERE, recently shared Norwegian duo, Alfred Hall, with me. I am forever in her debt. I think it was their album that got the blood pulsing back through my veins and returned the color to my cheeks. As if that wasn’t enough to have me shouting my gratitude from the roof-tops, it would appear that my introduction to Alfred Hall has also reactivated my musical-magnetic-receptor (or whatever you want to call it); all week I’ve been relentlessly pursued by an abundance of musical goodness. [In other words — YES, I have much more to share with you!] It feels sooo good to be back, to want to listen, to want to write, to want to SHARE.

While my musical tastes frequently lean towards a man and his guitar, a folk-song storyteller, my library is rapidly filling with up with what I’m calling dreamscape pop: melodies that come to life with ethereal harmonies, gentle guitar strums, exhilarating synths and infectious percussive beats. It’s dreamy, but not sleepy. It’s rejuvenating. Alfred Hall’s music is all of this and more. Many of their songs are delicately draped in nostalgia; their lyrics are both playful and thought-provoking.

Residing in the United States, I’m limited to listening to this album on YouTube. It’s not the first time I’ve resorted to YouTube playlists to satiate my needs, but the moment ‘Wilderness’, Alfred Hall’s debut album, becomes available via US iTunes or otherwise, I’ll return to this post and update all the information. I’d rather not stream my music, I want to buy it. I want to support the art-form I love so much.

I can’t pick a favorite, I really can’t. Here are two I know you’ll love.

Foreign Coast

Wild At Heart

This post is dedicated to my cousin, Marquelle, and to all who loved her.
“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.” ― A.A. Milne

4 comments on “Awaken My Senses [feat ALFRED HALL]

  1. You are not in any debt to me at all!!! On the contrary! I echo your words and love how you manage to describe this album, which seems to have appeared in our lives at the exact right time! I really can’t pick a favorite either! I keep discovering new depth in all the songs! I saw that i missed their release gigs in March but believe me, I’m keeping my eyes wide open as I walk around in Oslo – half an hour away from their hometown. Not to make you jealous! 😉

    • I don’t have an ounce of jealously towards you, my dear. As you well know, I count on you for my vicarious living. I hope you can see them live soon and I will wait with baited breath to hear all about it. xx

  2. I love how vulnerable you allow yourself to be.

    • Aww, thank you! There is no thrill like the thrill of embracing vulnerability. It’s a challenge at first, for sure. After-all, pretty much the whole of society is bent on telling us we need to try to be like someone else. Which in turn means we can’t (or feel as though we shouldn’t) share our hearts or pay any attention to our authentic desires/ inner voices. I would so much rather [try to] be the best version of me, complete with bruises, wrinkles [ahem, laugh-lines], and scars, than to be a replica of someone else. I’m just a rebel like that. 😉

      As e.e. cummings, my favorite poet, says: “To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.”

      That, my dear, is the good fight.

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

