Leave a comment

* * * LA EDITION * * * MIMFL Cover Songs (Vol. 6) feat Fitz and the Tantrums, Noah Gundersen, Chris Pierce, Brother Sal, Emma Louise & BOY

FIND ECSTASY IN LIFE; THE MERE SENSE OF LIVING IS JOY ENOUGH. — Emily Dickinson

MIMFL_doesLA

So, I’ve been needing/wanting/planning to tell you all about my recent rendezvous to Los Angeles. Let’s do that, shall we? I can’t tell you how often I TRY to get to LA and don’t make it. I’ve even purchased airfare and then had to cancel my plans (more than once). I love LA and it loves me, too. Really. But it seems as though the universe has deemed our love affair forbidden; every time I plan a trip, something goes awry. Last year I managed two trips to Texas, two trips to the NW (Seattle/ Portland), and a quick getaway to Boston/ Providence, but the trip I planned to LA? Canceled. In fact I hadn’t been to LA since 2009 and I hadn’t been to a show in LA since 2008! Absurd, I tell you. This year, I planned to go BIG. Since I had to bow out of the annual SxSW festivities, I planned this trip to LA as a way to soothe my bruised soul. I kid you not, once again my trip came SO CLOSE to being canceled. Why, you ask? What could be so important as to foil my plans? Three weeks prior to my departure date, one of my dearest cousins was killed in a car accident. The shock and grief left me incapacitated; I fell ill the day after the funeral. Under normal circumstances, a few extra hours of sleep, an increase in vitamins, and I’d be back on my feet. But I had no strength to fight off the sickness, I spent nearly two weeks bed-ridden. So yeah, that’ll do it. See what I mean?! Me + LA = FORBIDDEN.  *cough*cough*bullsh*t *cough*

My decision to go or not to go, came down to the wire — as in, it’s 24 hours before my flight and I need to check in… what do I do?! I gambled with my health, I put a band-aid on my heart, and I went anyway. I was met at the airport by two amazing friends, not in one car, but TWO separate cars – caravan style. Both pulled to the curb to greet me. I hopped in one car, and the other car navigated the way through LA traffic leading us to the House of Blues — let the musical adventures begin! That morning I drove 3.5 hours to the airport, then caught a 2 hour flight to LA, arrived intact AND headed straight to a show!! Take that, Universe! LA WAS HAPPENING!

Nothing about the trip was a let down: I stayed with one of my favorite people on the planet, my cherished love, Leila; my musical soul-mate, Katie, flew in from Houston to hold my hand and take part in the making of memories; Peter, my musical ally and beloved friend, proved to be the BEST host and tour guide, AND we went to six shows in three nights. That’s the way, uh-huh, uh-huh, I like it. Uh-huh, uh-huh. (Sorry, couldn’t help myself.) I made new friends and saw old friends. My [LOVE] cup was overflowing. And the shows we went to?! SO MUCH MIND-BLOWING MUSICAL GOODNESS!! It wasn’t SxSW in terms of quantity, but the quality was phenomenal. Every night was heaven. BLESSED doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel after a trip like this one.

Wednesday: Fitz and the Tantrums
[House of Blues Sunset Strip]
Thursday: Noah Gundersen/ Reverend Tall Tree & the Blackstrap Brothers/ Brother Sal
[Hotel Cafe/ Sassafras Saloon/ The Piano Bar]
Friday: Emma Louise/ BOY
[Hotel Cafe/ Troubadour]

 And there it is, the rhyme and reason behind this volume of MIMFL’s Cover Series.

Cover songs are often a controversial topic among music lovers. I see both sides of the topic, but I myself am very PRO-cover. Inspiration is found in nature, in a kind word, in a thoughtfully penned poem, in the laughter of children. Different things inspire different people at different times, but I think music is universally the most inspirational medium. Musicians who are just starting out hone their craft by learning covers that inspire them, songs originally played by people they admire. I love that! I love the respect and reverence you can hear in a thoughtfully done cover. I especially adore it when a song is reworked and has new life breathed into it. [original source]

FITZ AND THE TANTRUMS
[for the original: CLICK HERE]

NOAH GUNDERSEN (I couldn’t pick one… so you get two. You’re welcome. :-))
[for the original: CLICK HERE]

 [for the original: CLICK HERE]

CHRIS PIERCE (his current project is REVEREND TALL TREE)
[for the original: CLICK HERE]

BROTHER SAL
[previously featured HERE]  <— He played this song for me when we saw him in LA — I swear I’m still glowing! ♥ Brother Sal and his band, The Devil May Care, did the most INCREDIBLE cover of The Beatles, Why Don’t We Do it in the Road. I wish I had gotten video of THAT! If you ever find yourself in Hollywood, get down to The Piano Bar and check these guys out. You won’t regret it.
 [for the original: CLICK HERE]

EMMA LOUISE (Again, I think I’ll share two!)
 [for the original: CLICK HERE]

 [for the original: CLICK HERE]

BOY
(Thanks to my buddy, Peter, for filming this at our show!!)
 [for the original: CLICK HERE]

Gold stars to anyone who listened all the way though. Thanks for sharing this with me. I truly am grateful for the healing that comes from friendship, music, and shared connections. 🙂

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

