5 Comments

Song of the Moment — WHAT A DAY [Greg Laswell]

Relationship is quite possibly the only thing I love more than music. As much as I adore getting intimately familiar with a song, I’d trade music entirely for a few intimate friendships. Yet I confess, I cringe a bit as I type that. It seems obvious, right? Of course one would trade music for a best friend, their mother, or a beloved sibling…  but I have a torrid love-affair with music, it has stood the test of time. I don’t always like people. I could survive blissfully for a while with just me, my music, a cup of tea and a library filled with books. But I’m often reminded there is NOTHING like the magic that occurs when you connect with a like-mind or a kindred-spirit; I’m immensely grateful for these reminders.

The meeting of two personalities is like the contact of two chemical substances: if there is any reaction, both are transformed.  ― Carl Jung

http://inwardsun.wordpress.comThrough my very first post, Favorite Finds of 2011, I got connected with a beautiful kindred spirit/ musical soulmate/ fellow lover of words. Her name is Helen and we are continents apart. We may never meet in person (though I think we will) — but we have loads in common. What started as banter about music, quickly led to discussing our mutual appreciation for LIFE, laughter, kindness, travel, and using writing as a means to connect with those around us. A little reading adventure on her blog, inwardsun.outwardsmile, solves my disquiet anytime I’m feeling disenchanted by my surroundings. I’m still reeling from her latest post. The energy of passionate souls is wildly contagious. I crave it. I cozy up next to it every chance I get.

Greg Laswell’s, What a Day, started playing on my inner juke-box as I was reading Helen’s impressions. I think this song is the perfect accompaniment to her piece; the sentiments align quite nicely. Although in fairness, Helen’s energy is far more joyous than Mr. Laswell’s (in this song anyway).

Greg has an uncanny way of snaking in and out of my most beautiful relationships. I actually credit him for introducing me to two of my most cherished girlfriends. One I met at a concert of his a few years ago. We shared the floor space in front of the stage — she graciously made room for myself and four friends. And the other I met through a quirky little exchange of Laswell’s song lyrics on another artist’s facebook page. Technically I suppose Andrew Belle should get the credit for our meeting, but it was our back-and-forth with Greg’s words that brought us together.

When I’m counting blessings, Greg Laswell always gets a silent thank you.


Website//Facebook

[lyrics]
What a day to be alive
What a day to realize I’m not dead
What a day to save a dime
What a day to die trying

What a way to say goodbye
What a wonderful life now all a lie
What a way that you survive
What a day to say good night

Bring on the evening hours I cry
Bring on the evidence of my life

What a day to give a damn
What a day for Gone With The Wind
What a day to start again
What a day to give up

Bring on the evening hours I cry
Bring on the evidence of my life

Where to go, where to go from here
I don’t know … don’t know

What a day to visit Seattle
What a day for San Francisco
What a day, holy Toledo
What a day to get in the air and go
What a day to give up smoking
What a day to absorb Jim Beam
And what day to welcome a baby
to begin breathing.

5 comments on “Song of the Moment — WHAT A DAY [Greg Laswell]

  1. “I don’t always like people. I could survive blissfully for a while with just me, my music, a cup of tea and a library filled with books. But I’m often reminded there is NOTHING like the magic that occurs when you connect with a like-mind or a kindred-spirit; ”

    even better than this very nice song

  2. AMBER!!!! You are making my heart swell!! Thank you SOOOO MUCH for your encouragment and appreciation! You are an inspiration in the way you give so selflessly and share so much! I am happy I can remind you of the magic of life, as you do for me, and I can’t wait to meet you in person…somewhere in this beautiful world! A big hug from me!

  3. Oh and speaking of the blessings of connections and the reflections of ourselves in others…I think you should read this beautiful woman’s blog…I have a feeling you will relate to her words and wonder…http://meredithwinn.wordpress.com/

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

