2 Comments

TOM ODELL — Another Love

I want to take you somewhere so you know I care, but it’s so cold and I don’t know where. So I pick you daffodils in a pretty string, but they won’t flower like they did last spring.

It’s not often that I’m speechless. Truly. Those moments when something is so magnificent that it knocks the wind from your lungs and you are left scrambling to collect yourself as not to appear dumbstruck — I LIVE to put words to those moments. I’ve often heard it said that “music is what feelings sound like” and although I agree, I thrive on putting feelings into words. I want to paint vivid word pictures of all the soaring highs and all the gut wrenching lows. I find pleasure in attempting to romanticize even the most devastating experiences; if you look hard enough you can find the beauty in almost any fall.

I recently heard Tom Odell’s, Another Love, and I’m absolutely spellbound. The piano undoes me. I want to cry, and I want to love, but all my tears have been used up. My god, why is that so good? I’m pretty smitten with life, quick to laugh and easy-going, but I sure am a sucker for a sad song.

This song is glorious. If I ever find my words, I’ll come back and expand on why I’m so in awe.

WEBSITE//FACEBOOK//SOUNDCLOUD

[lyrics]

I want to take you somewhere so you know I care
but it’s so cold and I don’t know where.
I brought you daffodils in a pretty string
but they won’t flower like they did last spring

And I want to kiss you, make you feel alright
but I’m just so tired to share my lines
I want to cry and I want to love but all my tears have been used up

On another love, another love
all my tears have been used up
on another love, another love
all my tears have been used up
on another love, another love
all my tears have been used up

And if somebody hurts you yeah I want to fight
but my hand’s been broken one too many times
So I use my voice, I’ll be so damn rude
Words they always win, I know I’ll lose
Yeah I’ll sing a song, that’ll be just ours
but I sang them all to another heart
I want to cry I want to learn to love
but all my tears have been used up

On another love, another love
all my tears have been used up
on another love, another love
all my tears have been used up
on another love, another love
all my tears have been used up

2 comments on “TOM ODELL — Another Love

  1. I brought you daffodils in a pretty string
    but they won’t flower like they did last spring

    these are great lines – I am not sure what to make out of them….

  2. Check out the official music video for “Another Love” here: http://smarturl.it/TomOdellAL

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

