Leave a comment

We’re on Each Other’s Team [feat. LORDE]

Anais-frameDearest kindreds,

Do you know how privileged I consider myself to walk side-by-side with you — to join hands, to lift our voices in song, to share what makes us come alive, to cry out in frustration on occasion and medicate with melancholy melodies? You maybe haven’t realized it, but that’s what we do here in these pages. I didn’t start this blog to review bands. I didn’t start it with the desire to uncover the hottest new bands.  I certainly didn’t start it wanting thousands of views and hoping to have my posts go viral. If you read regularly you know that’s just not what Music is My First Language is about.

I want to share beautiful music. I want to share how music moves me and in doing this I’m hoping to forge a connection with you — because I know music moves you, too. I chose the name of this blog to bring together those of you who share my common tongue.

These words by Anaïs Nin explain it perfectly: I am an excitable person who only understands life lyrically, musically, in whom feelings are much stronger as reason. I am so thirsty for the marvelous that only the marvelous has power over me. Anything I can not transform into something marvelous, I let go. Reality doesn’t impress me. I only believe in intoxication, in ecstasy, and when ordinary life shackles me, I escape, one way or another. No more walls. 

I heard the echos of all of your “amens”. We understand life lyrically. Musically. Our feelings are much stronger than reason and we wouldn’t want it any other way.

I want to write for you more regularly. I really do. But see, I made this promise back in the early days that I would only post when I couldn’t NOT post. I only post when something lights me up and causes me to come rushing to the keyboard.

And so today I share with you Lorde’s, “Team”. I didn’t want to hop the Lorde bandwagon. I really didn’t. While “Royals” is fun and catchy it’s not really my speed.  I listened further upon the insistence of a good friend, but I only made it four songs into the album. Then “Team” found its way to me.

And you know what I thought of? You. Us. This. These pages. ♥

[lyrics]
Wait ’til you’re announced
We’ve not yet lost all our graces
The hounds will stay in chains
Look upon Your Greatness and she’ll send the call out
Send the call out 

Call all the ladies out, they’re in their finery
A hundred jewels on throats
A hundred jewels between teeth
Now bring my boys in, their skin in craters like the moon
The moon we love like a brother, while he glows through the room

Dancin’ around the lies we tell

Dancin’ around big eyes as well
Even the comatose, they don’t dance and tell

We live in cities you’ll never see onscreen
Not very pretty, but we sure know how to run things
Livin’ in ruins of a palace within my dreams
And you know we’re on each other’s team

I’m kind of over gettin’ told to throw my hands up in the air
So there

So all the cups got broke
Shards beneath our feet
But it wasn’t my fault
And everyone’s competing for a love they won’t receive
Cause what this palace wants is release

We live in cities you’ll never see onscreen
Not very pretty, but we sure know how to run things
Livin’ in ruins of a palace within my dreams
And you know we’re on each other’s team

I’m kind of over gettin’ told to throw my hands up in the air
So there
I’m kind of older than I was when I reveled without a care
So there

We live in cities you’ll never see onscreen
Not very pretty, but we sure know how to run things
Livin’ in ruins of a palace within my dreams
And you know we’re on each other’s team

We’re on each other’s team
And you know we’re on each other’s team
We’re on each other’s team
We’re on each other’s team
And you know and you know and you know

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

