Leave a comment

*PUSH PLAY* → Midi Matilda • Love & The Movies

Music has always been a matter of energy to me, a question of Fuel.
Sentimental people call it Inspiration, but what they really mean is Fuel.
I have always needed fuel. I am a serious consumer.
On some nights I still believe that a car with the gas needle on empty
can run about fifty more miles if you have the right music very loud on the radio.
-Hunter S. Thompson

In January (2012), Midi Matilda’s, Day Dreams, fell in my lap. My intuition was pulsing on high; one song and I knew instantly that the god of music had dished me up something sublime. I immediately thought, this band will make my “Favorite Finds of 2012 when it comes time to compile that list. (Go HERE for last year’s summary.) Their Red Light District EP is available on their bandcamp page and I’ve spent HOURS getting cozy with each song. I suggest you RUN (don’t walk) and check that EP out asap!

Their new one, Love & the Movies, has been on repeat since I first heard it last week. I am crushing with such a ferocious passion on the video, too. I usually skip over “official videos” and opt to share a live performance video, but this one compliments the song perfectly and is incredibly well made. I can’t imagine a single soul not LOVING this. We definitely weren’t meant to be friends if you have an adverse reaction to this song and/or video. It has my whole-hearted stamp of approval and I really think you are going to go crazy for it.

TURN IT UP and I dare you not to dance. 

Official Website 
Facebook
Bandcamp

[lyrics]
Movies in her head, the movies in her head.
Try to beat ‘em to it, but you can’t. Oh the first time that you
Saw it you said it felt correct. How long will you stay in with me tonight?
So I can find my way back into your heart… 

Sisters and the pets they keep, runners on easy street. 
Oh and the lovers on the tv screen they don’t look 
Nothin’ like you and me. 

You said you would know, you said you would know. 
When all is said and done, I guess you don’t. Oh your slamming on 
The brakes before we even start. Holding it together while I come apart. 
Why can’t I find my way back into your heart? 

Your pillow and a cigarette, I’m in your old school rolodex. 
Baby I’m falling.
I’ve got a number, why don’t you call it?

I’d kill to be there for the rest, or is this really all I get  — I’m falling.
Oh and I mean it now. 

Sisters and the pets they keep, runners on easy street. 
Oh and the lovers on the tv screen they don’t look 
Nothin’ like you and me. (No they don’t.)

If you want to lay back down, if you ever change your mind. 
Or if you want to waste some time…

Sisters and the pets they keep, runners on easy street. 
Ooh and the lovers on the tv screen they don’t look 
Nothin’ like you and me.

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

