1 Comment

Gold and Silver :: BROTHER & BONES

I was born with music inside of me. Music was one of my parts.
Like my ribs, my kidneys, my liver, my heart. Like my blood.
It was a force already within me when I arrived at the scene.
It was a necessity for me — like food or water.
– Ray Charles

Mmm. Yes. I do love that. There’s nothing like witnessing unharnessed passion. If you push forward hard enough with your heart, your body will follow. And folks will take notice; passion is contagious.

I featured Brother & Bones in my Favorite Finds of 2011 and I was consumed with uncontrollable joy when I thought they were going to play SxSW this year. That didn’t happen, unfortunately. But they’ll be on the map in the States soon enough, and when they tour here, I’ll be wherever they are. :-) And yes, if we’re friends, I’ll be dragging you with me.

Is there anyone reading this that doesn’t know what an earworm is? It’s that song that gets stuck inside your head and you can’t get it out. Fragments of it loop and loop and loop, often until you start to go a wee mad. This song, Gold & Silver, is kind of the opposite of an earworm, for me. Each time I hear it, it’s like I’m hearing it for the first time. It stuns me into speechless submission with every listen. There is nothing quite like a man and his guitar laying it bare. I can HEAR it when there is honesty and genuine passion in a song; I know I’m not alone in this. A bleeding heart is a gravitational force for me.

This song turns me inside out.

I have a number of friends who are musicians and I’m so incredibly blessed by their drive. It’s awe-inspiring. I’ve seen the ins and the outs of the business, and it’s not all rock and roll. It is extremely hard work. It’s playing for crowds that talk over the top of you, it’s hours on the road away from the ones you love, it’s pouring over mixes until the early hours of the morning trying to get the production the way it sounds in your head . . . and it’s so much more for an independent musician: mapping out tour stops, funding your own albums, promoting yourself, keeping track of merch sales, finding the time to write new material when you’re exhausted from the road (and soo much more)… I can’t even begin to express my gratitude for those that stick it out and beat the odds. There is a lot of talent out there that never gets heard. It takes perseverance. It takes a little luck. It takes fans like you and me, supporting and sharing the love. I just wanna say thanks to those of you that keep up with this little blog of mine. The music contained in these pages is [in my opinion] born of some of the most incredible talent on the scene today. It’s my absolute pleasure to share it with you and I get soo excited when you like something enough to share it with your friends. SPREAD THE LOVE. There’s more than enough to go around.

[lyrics]
Spare me your sympathies of broken dreams, now, honestly,

Im not the man I used to want to be
And dont hold your punches I am strong enough
to take the words, you dont belong

Because I burnt my eyes to see the sun
For what it is, not what the words of everyone have told me I should see
So make your conscience clear enough to make your judgements
When you look at me

Gold and silver means nothing to the blind
So don’t weigh yourself down, before you find your eyes

Why wear a mask to hide from all the things you’ve said
Would you cut off your toes to spite the chosen path you’ve led?
Just be the one you choose to be
and let your words walk with you now instead

And don’t drag me down into the waters
That you drown your sons and daughters in hoping to wash away the fear,
To accept your failures less than your success
is such a wayward path to steer

Gold and silver means nothing to the blind
So don’t weigh yourself down, before you find your eyes

You best believe that there’s a darkness in your heart to overcome
It looks the same and takes the shape of all those shadows from which you run
And all your friends and all your enemies well, they’ll live and die and one,
Because theres nowhere to run, no theres nowhere to run

Gold and silver means nothing to the blind
So don’t weigh yourself down, before you find your eyes

 

One comment on “Gold and Silver :: BROTHER & BONES

  1. This band will be the best band in the world. People just need to have a bit of time to get their heads around how good they actually are!

Thoughts or comments? Please share.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

